The Flames Lost You In The Fire


I’m sure you’ve heard by now of the Stephen Court incident at Park Street. I went to Park Street today to see what the condition of the building was like. It’s been three days, and firefighters are still looking for bodies that must have burnt and died in there. It’s scary to even look at the remains from the outside. There were people everywhere under, looking up expectantly at the building, waiting for a miracle to take place.

But the damage is done, and people have lost their lives already, and it’s all just so sad. Someone’s mum, someone’s dad, someone’s child. Someone’s first love, someone’s wife. It’s just so emotional. I was wondering what would have happened to me if I’d have lost someone like that I love.

For death, is pure truth and nothing else.

Alright, these things happen all the time, but this time, everything was just so close. Park Street! Wow, that’s like the place I practically live in when not at home! I would know, because my mom lost her friend in that fire. It was so gory to even read the details on the newspaper, I can’t bring myself to google the latest news either.

I was just thinking and hoping that I’m never done such injustice, ever. I don’t want to ever lose anyone that’s so close to me, in such a horrendous way.  I don’t think I would ever be able to move on if you were snatched away from me like that. To have those flames take you away from me, so selfishly.

I really wish I could be strong and not push the people I love so much away from me all the time like I do every day. Because one day, it could be me, or it could be you walking into a building that catches fire like that, and I we would never see each other again. But the harsh words that came out of my mouth will remain forever.

“The good that men oft do, is interred with their bones, but the evil they do, lives on even after they die.”

I wish you could accept all my apologies here, and know that whatever it is, I’ll love you no matter what.

Because it’s crazy, but it’s life.

x EdgyShark x

About edgyshark

What?

Posted on March 27, 2010, in Existence and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “What we do in life, echoes in eternity.” – Russel Peters: Gladiator. Just thought this would be an opportune moment to express my grief towards the incident aforementioned. Just makes you realise how every morning you wake up is a blessing!

  2. you ve penned my feelings exactly.

  3. Saw your post on Indiblogger. You have penned your thoughts and feelings beautifully. The question now is what should be done to prevent such things in the future. Many buildings seem to not have the required provisions as mandated by the city’s fire department. This also includes numerous government buildings. The city officials should start being strict when it comes to the mandated guidelines to be followed in order to get the building permit.

Leave a Reply

