Freezing On Royal Fire!


Everyone says leaving school is something very hard to do. But for the last four years, I’ve been having this ache to leave those four walls behind and move onto a new college campus and start things afresh. However, when you least expect it, things turn around and hit you right back on the face.

We were given our farewell by the juniors, and a pretty spectacular affair that was! Wound all around by a celluloid theme, it felt pretty awesome to be around such wonderful people. For the last evening, I greeted my teachers and classmates with gusto. As the days near, I feel less pressurized to act in a certain manner and feel more calm and composed with regard to these people all around me. We’ve stuck it (and not stuck it) through thick and thin over the last fourteen years, and it all boiled down to that one evening to remember.

Frozen on Fire

I was called on stage during the finality of it all, and I sang “Leaving on a Jet Plane” with my best voice possible. Somewhere deep inside me, I felt so happy and so elated to be done with this part of my life, but I failed to notice the moment when my voice began quivering a little. I wouldn’t give way, how could I?

I was feeling joy, excitement and sadness through my veins at the same time!

The next bit arrived with even more of a shock as I was crowned the queen of the evening, Miss Birla High! I haven’t felt such stark extreme emotions in the longest time. Shock, happiness and a teeny tiny bit of resentment and sorrow filled inside my little heart.Β I had been crowned a royal in the arena where I’d never though I’d fit in. And after this point, I’m never really going to be forgotten, or forget the school for all the good times, and bad.

Like fire meets ice, and melts and freezes at the same time; it’s really hard to explain the kind of contradiction that swept over my feelings and took over.

They say the human body’s made of 72% water. I don’t know how much was freezing and how much was on fire at that moment! πŸ˜‰

x EdgyShark x

You ever felt something so contradictory and wonderful at the same time? Fire n Ice? Post your stories here atΒ http://www.facebook.com/closeupindia and don’t forget to comment below!

About edgyshark

What?

Posted on January 31, 2011, in Existence and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. school is the 1 thing in life where given a choice i would happily go back to….i spent 14yrs at the same school and never had the thought of leaving it crossed my mind….school is a time to be careless and carefree….i always turn nostalgic thinking about my school life….and so does everyone else…just that some dont know it yet….

  2. By far the best you have written, in a long time. Baby , its called the cycle of life.

  3. Bidding farewell to Alma mater is always a mixed emotion, leaving your school you grew up in to looking ahead into the future you are about to make for yourself. Been there, done that…twice…and its about to hit me again the third time……..
    Totally awesome piece!

  4. Charmed I am. Very well written. All the best πŸ™‚

    Here’s my story:
    http://fu-ck-lo-ve.blogspot.com/2011/02/fire-freeze-moment-of-my-life.html#comments

  5. It’s certainly hard to leave school only to know you’re about to enter a whole new world very soon.
    Also it was interesting to know you were in my sister school! I studied in Birla High as well; only for three years, though.

    Do read my story as well. πŸ™‚
    Mixed Up

  6. You may not realise, But you are definitely one of the awesomest seniors we have.
    It’s difficult for us too to see you gone.
    Like you said, I shall repeat.
    You shall be missed as much as dobby.
    Or probably even more! πŸ™‚
    Love you!

  7. Ah those golden moments from the most cherished days of everyone’s life! Congrats Miss High πŸ™‚

  8. wow amazingly written feeling nostalgic thnx!

  9. Nice one .. reminds me of my school and college days.. it’s all just coming back now πŸ™‚

  10. nice post dear Urmika, I will vote it!

  11. Beautifully written. I could somewhat relate to the good old school days of my own πŸ™‚

    Hope you enjoy reading my post – To hold you in my arms, to promise you my love!

  12. you get used to school most of your life till you leave it…. and at some point of time, after that bit of life is consigned to your diary, your blog, the songs you sung and the echoing corridors of your heart, it will hit you. when you least expect it; school is over…
    😦

Leave a Reply

