Ships In The Night


You know what it feels like to have your heart broken? 

Again and again? And again? 

I’m sick and tired of living in a sea of humanity – and I mean exactly that. Everyone just blends into the water and there’s so much water flowing all around me, it’s almost asphyxiating. I feel like one solitude stricken stone floating in the horizon, by chance. I could have sunk and joined the rest of the sea bed – or I could have met the shore, yet here I am, still afloat, stuck with Richard Parker. 

My alter ego eats me up on days when I’ve already hit the lowest. Why is it that there are times when not only does everything that could possibly go wrong do, but when you begin comprehending that maybe, just maybe you could feel again, someone else slaps you so hard that your world turns white.

When that happens…

I walk, dejected but with strong strides to the edge. On my sides there’s lush greenery swaying in the current of the wind, unaware. The cliff is wide but one look at it and I assure myself quite succinctly, there’s just another step to take. Capped peaks adorn the distance as my breath fills up with fog. Without hesitation, without a thought, I open my mouth and scream. Scream till my lungs are airy and beg me to stop. Scream till the picturesque scenery reminds me of a mis en scene for a concentration chamber; and in a matter of seconds I’m transported.

When is this going to end? 

x EdgyShark x

About edgyshark

What?

Posted on January 29, 2013, in Existence. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. More I read these post..the more I question, if you really are in your 20’s. 🙂 Kudos on the last paragraph.. Really well written..

Leave a comment